Author Topic: I've got the fastest internet in LMC  (Read 9815 times)

gsgen

  • |LMC| Leader
  • ******
  • Posts: 977
Re: I've got the fastest internet in LMC
« Reply #30 on: February 19, 2013, 07:09:31 pm »
My first move was to escape 56k help running at 19k and now I am paying a little extra to keep at the top delta force with 56k vs cable sucked so bad lol
You Can Run But You Will Just Die Tired

ZenPhire

  • |LMC| Leader
  • *******
  • Posts: 7041
  • Good times...
Re: I've got the fastest internet in LMC
« Reply #31 on: February 20, 2013, 01:53:29 am »
lol i can imagine, i remember playing tiberian sun over dial up. not too bad but with pr.3 i decided dsl is critical. =P
“Be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a hard battle.” – Plato

zynx33

  • |LMC| Senior Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 1038
  • Live fast die young
Re: I've got the fastest internet in LMC
« Reply #32 on: February 20, 2013, 02:11:14 am »
lol i can imagine, i remember playing tiberian sun over dial up. not too bad but with pr.3 i decided dsl is critical. =P

Command and conquer?

Elite

  • (LMC) Friend
  • **
  • Posts: 42
  • AssasinPro
    • Youtube
Re: I've got the fastest internet in LMC
« Reply #33 on: February 20, 2013, 01:28:11 pm »


That's pretty good for gaming.  What more do you need?

Well for one thing I can't livestream and when I'm playing games such as Arma II my ping rockets all the way up to 150+.
Are you guys using fibre-optic or...?

Evoke

  • |LMC| Senior Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 2056
    • http://winkzor.deviantart.com/
Re: I've got the fastest internet in LMC
« Reply #34 on: February 20, 2013, 04:04:39 pm »



hmm... 5.4mbps download and 4.6mbps upload at a distance of 4600 miles.. not bad


locally

not as good as yours but good enough imo

btw im on a wifi

gsgen

  • |LMC| Leader
  • ******
  • Posts: 977
Re: I've got the fastest internet in LMC
« Reply #35 on: February 20, 2013, 05:05:22 pm »


  these are two closest and i have 5 devices running internet in the house right now so lets see what happens if i go to the west coast

  Berkeley And last lets go somewhere close but not too close

« Last Edit: February 20, 2013, 05:07:49 pm by gsgen »
You Can Run But You Will Just Die Tired

gsgen

  • |LMC| Leader
  • ******
  • Posts: 977
Re: I've got the fastest internet in LMC
« Reply #36 on: February 24, 2016, 04:56:39 pm »
And that is why i love my wife working from home But need a new modem that actually supports the real speed i could get....     
You Can Run But You Will Just Die Tired

ZenPhire

  • |LMC| Leader
  • *******
  • Posts: 7041
  • Good times...
Re: I've got the fastest internet in LMC
« Reply #37 on: February 24, 2016, 10:45:54 pm »
=O Wow that DL
But your up is terrible. I'll be upgrading to 200 symmetric soon.
So enjoy your time on that throne while it lasts hehe. I'm gunning for that chair. ;)
“Be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a hard battle.” – Plato

Evoke

  • |LMC| Senior Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 2056
    • http://winkzor.deviantart.com/
Re: I've got the fastest internet in LMC
« Reply #38 on: February 25, 2016, 12:44:29 am »
to a local server


and to NY


not complaining, given that it's practically free :D

*edit: how is everyone's up speed so low? o.O
« Last Edit: February 25, 2016, 01:59:53 pm by Evoke »

gsgen

  • |LMC| Leader
  • ******
  • Posts: 977
Re: I've got the fastest internet in LMC
« Reply #39 on: February 25, 2016, 08:54:48 pm »
Too be fair there are at least ten devices connected at any one time in this house. And Just wait until I get a new Modem / Router then you will see speeds. And it does not hurt that I got rid of cable and went to satelite so all my cable is internet only.....
You Can Run But You Will Just Die Tired

ZenPhire

  • |LMC| Leader
  • *******
  • Posts: 7041
  • Good times...
Re: I've got the fastest internet in LMC
« Reply #40 on: February 26, 2016, 07:48:02 pm »
Ah satellite, that explains it! Consumer satellite sure has come a long way. Those are some sweet speeds.
“Be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a hard battle.” – Plato

gsgen

  • |LMC| Leader
  • ******
  • Posts: 977
Re: I've got the fastest internet in LMC
« Reply #41 on: February 27, 2016, 09:29:33 pm »
No No No I still have comcast for my internet but my cable line is strictly internet now no tv going through it...  And that is more like what i should get with the modem I have now I should be getting this to be fair.......Internet: 150 Mbps what i am paying for... Yes I could get the 2000mbps service but nah too much..
« Last Edit: February 27, 2016, 09:36:19 pm by gsgen »
You Can Run But You Will Just Die Tired

ZenPhire

  • |LMC| Leader
  • *******
  • Posts: 7041
  • Good times...
Re: I've got the fastest internet in LMC
« Reply #42 on: February 28, 2016, 03:37:55 pm »
wow, 200 down on cable. nice.
“Be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a hard battle.” – Plato

omniconsumer

  • |LMC| Leader
  • *******
  • Posts: 4082
  • There are black holes on my face.
Re: I've got the fastest internet in LMC
« Reply #43 on: April 15, 2016, 09:17:53 pm »


So, I'm not sure if you guys realize, but Mb/s and Mbps are completely different.  Mb/s is Megabytes per second and Mbps is Megabits per second.
179Mbps = 22.37 Mb/s while 10.79 Mbps = 1.31 Mb/s.  Let's be honest with each other, this is pretty ....meh!  ;)

Gen, your earlier Speedtest on your wife's work computer is pretty impressive, mostly just the download bandwidth though.  :-*





On my downloads, I can max out at 53 Mb/s.  I think that's pretty decent still. I can download a 1080p quality one hour show in several minutes. My upload rate is a surprise.  However, I'd prefer having my upload rate on par with my download rate.  It seems kind of backwards in a good way though, having a higher upload than download bandwidth speeds.

However, if it comes to a nice balance, then I think I have the most envious rates in LMC! 


omniconsumer

  • |LMC| Leader
  • *******
  • Posts: 4082
  • There are black holes on my face.
Re: I've got the fastest internet in LMC
« Reply #44 on: April 16, 2016, 08:10:21 pm »
Oh, well, what do ya know?

Just realized that on those Speedtests we all took, I'm the only one with a current A grade.  ;D

Though, I have to concede something very important.  From a price to speed ratio comparison, I think Evoke has us all beat in bang for buck. 
« Last Edit: April 16, 2016, 08:12:37 pm by omniconsumer »